try the craigslist app » Android iOS



Seeking personable, responsible, liberal female personal support worker (Toronto)

compensation: See description
employment type: employee's choice

I am a professional activist/artist with a physical, mobility disability--currently seeking PSW's for full-time and part-time positions. Must be willing to commit to a minimum of one year. NO PRIOR EXPERIENCE REQUIRED.

Pay is: $16.50 per hour for training, $17.65 at-home care $11.76 per hour for outings, $105 per overnight stay - roughly 8 hours plus time getting ready for bed

I require assistance with activities of daily living, including but not limited to:

-Transfers in and out of bed (I have an electric ceiling lift)
-toileting and washing/bathing (I have a hydraulic bathroom chair for this)
-all aspects of grooming from shaving to applying lotion
-toileting and personal grooming
-Some help with hair, make-up application, basic hairstyling, nail-trimming/filing/polish
-dressing/changing -simple meal prep (some cooking ability an asset)
-feeding/eating, administering prepared meds
-housecleaning and laundry
-Outings, including though not necessarily limited to: medical appointments, shopping, recreational.
-Part-time applicants should be available to do 1-2 overnights a week in addition to scheduled daily hours. Full-time applicants should be available to do 2-3 overnights in addition to daily hours.
-A G licence is also an asset, though not required.

You should not be allergic to fragrances/perfume or nuts. I do not smoke cigarettes and prefer a non-smoker. I drink socially and I do sometimes use medicinal marijuana. I have a small, hypoallergenic dog that is very friendly and somewhat shy in the beginning.

All applicants must have a valid SIN card and be legally able to work in Canada without restriction.

I sometimes travel for conferences and other trips, and ideally also looking for someone who is able to accompany me.

NO PRIOR EXPERIENCE OR TRAINING REQUIRED. I am more interested in the type of person you are and whether or not we mesh than your prior experience. You will receive on-the-job, paid training if hired.

I am outgoing and personable with a flair for fashion and an easy laugh. I'm looking for people who will jive with my personality: liberal, open, honest, good communicators, and liberal-minded. If applying for full-time should have the flexibility to accompany me on scheduled trips (usually no more than three weeks at a time). Please also notes that I have severe insomnia and tend to go to bed quite late. Overnight shifts are best suited to a fellow night owl. :-)

We would not be a good match if your values are ultraconservative or if you are unable to respect mine. It is my goal for us to develop a safe, productive, and comfortable working relationship.

I can be extremely busy at times and require someone who considers themselves to be energetic and a self-starter.

You must be available to start training within a few days notice. All training is paid.

Please note that because PSW work is not regulated, I will be asking every considered applicant for a police background check for working with vulnerable populations.

  • Principals only. Recruiters, please don't contact this job poster.
  • do NOT contact us with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7070019938


best of [?]