loading
reading
writing
saving
searching
There was an error loading the page; please try to refresh the page.

We've detected you are using a browser that is missing critical features.

Please visit craigslist from a modern browser.

try the craigslist app » Android iOS
favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$1,575 Lovely Bright Furnished Sublet Room in Heart of Kensington Market (Downtown Toronto (Kensington Market))

12345678910

apartment
w/d in unit
street parking
private bath
private room

NOTE: If it's still posted, it's still available from mid-late November (exact start date flexible) through April 30 (with possibility of extension). Due to COVID-19 safety protocols, please include a phone number and times you can be reached for initial in-person phone interviews. Also, please only contact me if you've maintained fairly strict protocols through the pandemic yourself and feel capable of communicating well through risk conversations with a potential roommate, should we have another wave during our time of co-habitation. Let's keep each other safe :)

One medium-sized, bright, cozy, furnished private room sublet available in my awesome shared fully-furnished upper-level apartment in the heart of Kensington Market. $1575/room/month (shorter-term rates TBD) includes furnishings (very unique and comfy wood log-framed double-bed, desk, closet, big window with black-out curtains), linens, hydro, heat, hot water, washer-dryer. Shared Wi-Fi (you're welcome to get your own Wi-Fi if you'd prefer to hook it up). Ideal for international graduate students or professional newcomers or other people without a lot of their own stuff. Strong harm reduction principles desired and clear communication about COVID-19 practices offered/expected.

If this sounds good to you, please read on, and get in touch if you think it could be a good fit!

The Apartment:

This place is a one-of-a-kind gem, newly built and tucked away from the street in a private courtyard between two shops on Baldwin Street. The apartment is in a new building (rare for Kensington Market!) and is set back from the bustle of the street. There is a full vegetarian/pescatarian kitchen and laundry is free (non-coin-op). It's close to all the Kensington Market vintage clothing and food shops, restaurants, cafes, and bars, while also being in a bit of a bubble away from the hectic street.

This a perfect bike and TTC commuter spot, less than a minute's walk to the Spadina Streetcar and also between the College, Dundas, and Bathurst lines. Steps from U of T, Chinatown, and Little Italy. A few minutes by bike or streetcar to Ryerson and every subway line. If you drive, there is a city parking garage about 20m from the apartment and you can also get a parking permit for the neighbourhood.

Due to its location in the heart of one of the busiest neighbourhoods in the city, even though it's tucked away from the street, sound can sometimes travel. If the purr of the neighbour's generator or the occasional chatter of passing revellers will disturb you, this probably isn't the best fit for you. That said, if you can handle that, there's lots to love about this 'hood...

A Bit About Kensington Market:

One of Toronto's most interesting, eclectic, and friendly neighbourhoods, on most visitors' list of places to check out, the area often ends up being the highlight. Home to a diverse community of artists, musicians and activists, Kensington fosters a unique sense of community for locals and tourists alike. With a variety of cafes, restaurants, boutiques, and vintage stores to check out, just outside the apartment you can find all kinds of specialty cheese stores, dried goods, bakeries, fruit and vegetable stalls, and food from around the world. You can walk around enjoying the atmosphere or hang out in nearby Bellevue Square Park. Chinatown is right around the corner and the University of Toronto, Art Gallery of Ontario and other attractions are within walking distance.The market is always bustling with tourists and locals, and on weekends you can often find live music and performers on the street.

Me:

I'm a friendly, LGBT2S+ graduate student who loves coming home to a clean, quiet, welcoming atmosphere for low-key or alone time at the end of a busy day. I prefer tea to beer and read more books than watch shows. I am double vaccinated.

You:

If you think you might jive with me and feel at home in my space, please drop a line and tell me a bit about yourself, what you're looking for in a living situation, what excites you about this ad, what dates you're looking for, and when you're available to come for a viewing.

Suitable for another non-smoking (tobacco allergies!) queer/trans-friendly grad student or otherwise down-to-earth, quiet, respectful, kind professional who is tidy, communicates well, and is willing to keep a vegetarian or pescatarian kitchen (and who will take good care of my place and belongings/be considerate of the neighbours). References & pics available upon request. Please be double vaccinated (unless you have a valid medical exemption).

Logistics:

I'm looking to find someone looking to move in mid to late November or December 1 & move out April 30 unless otherwise negotiated; shorter-term situations will be considered on a case-by-case basis. Please let me know the dates you are thinking of and send a local number if you have one, as well as any housing references you have available. Generic inquiries will likely be ignored...

Thanks for checking out this listing - looking forward to hearing from you :)

~c
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7405374358

posted:

updated:

best of [?]