We've detected you are using a browser that is missing critical features.

Please visit craigslist from a modern browser.
There was an error loading the page; please try to refresh the page.
try the craigslist app » Android iOS
favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$665 / 1br - Room for rent in shared house at Bathurst and Bloor (Toronto)

1234567

1BR / sharedBa available apr 1

apartment
laundry on site
no smoking
street parking
no private bath
private room

hello!

We are three roommates (a refugee lawyer, a nursing student, and a graduate student) looking for a fourth roommate to live in our shared house near Bathurst and Bloor for April 1st, 2021 - move-in date is somewhat flexible, please reach out.

If you are interested, please send us a message with some info about yourself and why you think you would be a good fit for our house.

Lease terms: We are on month-to-month with the landlord. You would be a roommate of the current leaseholder.

No smoking inside the house
Not accessible (sadly) - steps to get into the house and many steps within the house
LGBTQ+ friendly (we are two cis woman, and a cis man, all straight)
Not a scent free house, but we prefer no strong perfumes/sprays, incense etc.
We have a cat

Rent is $665 per month, not including utilities (gas, water, garbage, electricity, internet). First and last month's rent required.

Furniture - the main floor of the house is mostly furnished, although there is some flexibility if you have furniture you want to bring. Your bedroom would be unfurnished.

We live in an old semi-detached house. The main floor has a living room, dining room and kitchen. (We have somewhat repurposed the living room for at-home exercise during Covid). There is a full bathroom on the second floor. The house has 5 bedrooms in total (three on the second floor and two on the third floor). The available bedroom could be on the second or third floor. One bedroom will stay empty to use as an office/yoga room. In a post-pandemic world, it would also be a guest room.

The basement is semi-finished. It has laundry, an extra full bathroom and storage.
We also have a shed in our side yard for bikes.

A few words on COVID living - we are looking for someone who is able to be open and honest about what precautionary measures they are willing to take during Covid-19. Some of us are going to work, but we are aiming to interact with a very limited number of people outside the house. Most importantly, we are communicating in an on-going way about what we're doing, and coming up with mutually-agreeable standards and boundaries.

We aim to have an open, friendly, communicative environment. We have no time for people who are passive-aggressive, who aren't willing to occasionally have difficult conversations, or who aren't looking for any type of community in their living situation. We are somewhere on the spectrum between a fully communal household and random roommates who live together. For example, we generally buy our own groceries because of different budgets, dietary choices and schedules, but we also share where it makes sense. We don't get angry if someone takes a banana they didn't buy. If you're cooking a big pot of food, maybe offer your roommate a plate? That's our vibe.

We have sporadic house dinners, watch movies/TV together, and generally hang out when we are in the house. But we also respect that everyone needs time alone.

We cook mostly vegetarian food (we are one vegetarian, and two omnivores who don't cook much meat).

We have a schedule to share cleaning jobs around the house each week. Keeping our shared spaces clean is important, and we recognize that this only works where we all have a shared understanding of our minimum standards.

We use Whatsapp to stay in touch as a group, and make time to chat in person about house stuff on an as-needed basis.

Here are some things one or more of us are interested in...cooking, board games, DnD, social justice/activism, beer, yoga, weight-lifting, soccer.

If you like to garden, there is lots of under-used garden space.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7258860733

posted:

best of [?]