We've detected you are using a browser that is missing critical features.

Please visit craigslist from a modern browser.
There was an error loading the page; please try to refresh the page.
try the craigslist app » Android iOS



$800 / 1br - 110ft2 - 1 room in 3 br Annex house w/ yard available April (Annex)


1BR / 1Ba 110ft2

flooring: carpet
w/d in unit
no smoking
street parking
no private bath
private room

Our house has a room available April 1. Long term preferred, but some flexibility for the right fit.

The location: We are in the heart of the Annex, and walking distance from all amenities. It's a 5 minute walk to Bathurst station, 10 minutes to Spadina station, and a 12 minutes to Dupont station. 5-10 minute walk to Christie Pits, Koreatown, 4 different grocery stores, lots of produce stands, Beer Store/LCBO/Wine Rack, Public Library and bookstores, several 24-hour gyms, endless groovy shops, restaurants, pubs.

The house: It's a main floor and basement of a house, with a spacious, high-ceilinged living room and eat-in kitchen with exposed brick walls, decorative fireplace, and hardwood floors, with en suite laundry. There is one bathroom, with a shower and bath, and brand new toilet, sink, and cabinet. We also have exclusive use of the large back yard, which has a big tree and a patio set, and hammock. We do not have parking on the property, but there is permit parking on side streets.

The room: The available room is in the basement, is dry and carpeted, and keeps cool in summer and toasty warm in winter. It was freshly painted two years ago (colour name: Quiet Retreat. Or white), and the carpets professionally cleaned last summer. It is a decently-sized room with a closet, lots of storage space - the room continues all the way under the stairs, with some extra closet/storage space. There is a big window with lots of light - a previous occupant was able to grow tropical plants. See pics for diagram with dimensions and layout. Ceilings are around 6'5" in most of the room. Room is fully furnished with a double bed (ikea, 1 year old), dresser, mirror, side table, TV (Insignia 32" LCD) and wall shelves.

The roomies: We're siblings in our mid-30s, LGBTQ-friendly, quiet, nonsmokers looking for same. Laura works as a math tutor, enjoys reading, urban dance, and a good contemplative nap. Jeremy works for CIBC, and likes computer games, puns, and funny noises. We also have a dog Murray - he is an 10-year-old poodle mix, currently unemployed, but very friendly, quiet, and nonshedding. We enjoy a sense of community in our home, but are also quite introverted and value our quiet time. We do have an occasional Zoom dance class or an in-house board game which you'd be welcome to join in if interested (see photo for our game collection). We are practicing distancing from other households, and not bringing people into the home.

All this can be yours for $800/month. Any large appliances (A/C units, mini-fridges) incur a surcharge based on predicted hydro-usage (~$10-$30/month), but otherwise everything is included: all utilities and wireless internet (no cable TV, but we do have the Netflix). First and last required. Unfortunately we do not have the space to accommodate a couple, or other pets (there are severe allergies in the house).

That's us, now you! Drop me a message if you're interested, and let me know a bit about yourself. We don't need your life story, but do need some information about people we might share a house with. (Please don't make me do all the work of getting to know each other - I am not that socially gifted). Who are you? What brings you to the neighbourhood? What do you like to do? What's your pandemic-age lifestyle like? What are you looking for in a place/roommates? Anything else you'd like us to know? When is a good time to arrange a viewing? (We are going to restrict interviews/viewings to online for everyone's safety. Once we mutually feel we have a good fit, we can arrange an in-person meeting to finalize the deal).

Finally, to spare us both from disappointment and needless exchanges: I promise to take the ad down when we fill the room - if it's still up, it's still available!



Picture descriptions:
1. Living room (and Murray)
2. Kitchen
3. Backyard (in a greener season)
4. Bedroom (view from the door)
5. Bedroom (view from the door)
6. Bedroom (view from the back corner)
7. Bedroom layout diagram
8. Bathroom
9. Boardgames
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7275721369



best of [?]