try the craigslist app » Android iOS
favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$1350 / 1br - 130ft2 - Sunny bedroom near Lansdowne Subway - May 1 to Aug 31 (Toronto)

1234567891011121314
136 near Armstrong Ave

(google map)

1BR / sharedBa 130ft2 available may 1

dogs are OK - wooof
apartment
w/d in unit
street parking
no private bath
private room

THE ROOM: Sunny, large bedroom for rent in a renovated 3+1 bedroom house. The room for rent is on the 2nd floor. It has a Queen sized bed, big closet, desk, chair and shelves.
THE HOUSE: You would share the kitchen, living room, dining room and bathroom with 3 housemates.
WHEN: This room is available from May 1 to August 31, making it perfect for someone who has a summer internship or co-op job in Toronto, or is going to be studying here for the whole summer. Preference is to rent it to someone for the entire period from beginning of May to end of August.
WHERE: 3 blocks north of Lansdowne Subway Station (7 minute walk from the Emerson Ave Exit) on Line 2 (Green Line). This is west of downtown Toronto, about a 20 minute trip to get to UofT by subway or by bicycle, about 35 minutes to get to the Financial District by subway or bike.
THE NEIGHBOURHOOD: It's a mix of families, old folks, students and young professionals, and a wide range of incomes and backgrounds. There are several affordable grocery stores within a 10-15 minute walk (Food Basic, Freshco, Walmart, NoFrills). There is a pool and gym 10 minutes away on foot, as well a Planet Fitness. There are lots of bars and restaurants along Bloor Street ranging from hipster (Three Speed, Bar Neon, The Burdock, etc.) to cheap and cheerful take-out (shawarma, pizza, etc.). The go-to coffee shop is Wallace Espresso closer to home for caffeine and croissants.
A BIT ABOUT US: We range in age from late 20s to early 40s. We are all fairly quiet when at home, and particularly between 11pm and 7am. We're chatty and friendly but will also give you your space. This summer our house will have one PhD student in education, one urban planner, and one visiting professor from Vienna. Between us three, we've got English, French, Spanish, German and Turkish covered.
WHAT'S INCLUDED: Everything, and then some. Unlimited internet. Cleaning lady comes twice a month to do the common areas. The kitchen, living room and dining room are set up as well. You have access to everything in the kitchen (pots and pans, utensils and plates, lunch containers, etc.). Laundry machines are in the basement, and are free. All utilities are included (electricity, gas, water, waste, etc.). Towels, sheets, pillows, blankets. Backyard patio for relaxing in the summer. Front yard hammock. Shed for secure bicycle storage. The one thing we don't have is a television or cable TV.
YOU: You are respectful and considerate of other people, and are comfortable living in a shared home. You may be local, or you may be from overseas. You have a plan for your time in Toronto this summer, whether it's studying, or working. You leave the partying for the bar or someone else's house. You don't smoke or vape, and don't bring any drugs (legal or illegal) to the house (what you do elsewhere is your own business). You are friendly, but don't need to be extroverted.
If you think you would be a good fit, send us an email, and we'll either have you by to see the place and meet us in person, or set up a Skype videocall to get to know each other.
PETS: We don't have any pets in the house at the moment but wouldn't be opposed to a non-shedding, well-behaved dog.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7073238486

posted:

best of [?]